Service Delivery Model

In Tasmania, palliative care services are provided by a network of primary and specialist providers, with the setting determined by patient choice and need. The relationship between primary and specialist services is mutually supportive.

Palliative Care Service Delivery

The Palliative Care Service Delivery Model (Model) provides a framework for palliative care service providers (primary and specialist) to work together for the benefit of patients and their families.

The aim of the Model is to achieve integrated, collaborative, high quality palliative care service delivery across all clinical settings and ensure effective patient access to a cohesive palliative care service system through:

  • Comprehensive assessment of the patient's palliative care needs;
  • Determining a plan of care;
  • Improved co-ordination and collaboration between primary and specialist providers;
  • Reduced duplication; and
  • Role clarity.

The Model explains the level of involvement of primary and specialist providers in patients' care.

The model recognises that:

  • Patients with life-limiting illnesses require different levels of involvement from the specialist Palliative Care Service based on their needs and the primary care provider's capability and capacity to meet those needs;
  • Many patients receive primary palliative care without having any contact with the specialist Service (Level 1). There is a clear distinction between consultation-liaison (Level 2), shared care (Level 3) and services provided directly by the Specialist Service itself (Level 4).
  • The Palliative Care Service supports palliative care service provision across all four levels.

Click on the following links to view further information on palliative care service delivery: